Download the one solar app

The second leg of Philippine Surfing Championship Tour has officially opened on November 5, 2017 at the surfing gateway of the Philippines- Lanuza, Surigao del Sur. and was graced by the presence of government officials and sponsors who showed their full support to one of the longest running surfing competitions in the country.

For the past 15th years, the Lanuza Surfing Festival has become a forefront in promoting the municipality of Lanuza, Surigao Del Sur as one of the top surfing destinations in the Philippines. A record breaking 160 surfers from La Union, Zambales, Pampanga, Baler, Laguna, Catanduanes, Cabugao, Cebu, Siargao, and Davao registered for this event. In addition to the Men’s Open Shortboard category, which was the lone division during the first leg held in Siargao, this PSCT-leg will also highlight the Grommets (16 year old and under), Men’s Open Longboard, and the Women’s Longboard and Shortboard categories.

Lanuza Municipal Mayor Salvacion Azarcon pointed out in her speech that the Lanuza Surfing Festival has gained national media recognition and she’s grateful for hosting the second leg of Philippine Surfing Championship Tour. Mayor Azarcon also said the she will continue to promote the province of Lanuza as one of the key surfing destinations in the Philippines.

Lanuza is a one-and-a-half hour plane ride from Manila and a three-hour bus ride from Surigao City. Lanuza’s iconic long right-hander waves at Doot Poktoy’s river mouth will be the arena for Filipino surf athletes who are vying to take the top spot and earn points for the national surf rankings. With a whopping prize purse of PHP 570,000, this year’s Lanuza Surfing Festival is definitely the biggest in history.

 The 15th Lanuza Surfing Festival is brought to you by the following sponsors and media partners: The Municipality of Lanuza, Province of Surigao Del Sur, Department of Tourism, Philippine Sports Commission, Office of Senator Angara, SkyJet Air (Official Airline Partner), Solar Sports (Official TV Partner), EDGE Sport (Official Digital Media Partner), Reef, Pichay Initiative, Marcventures Holdings inc., Kermit Surf Resort, Gwapitos, Fluidsurf, BackBurn, Indio, Holy Skull, Aguariva Swimwear, AFrame, San Miguel Beer,, INQPop, The Manila Bulletin, Going Places Magazine, EDGE Davao and My Life on Board.

Please be advised, that any audio visual or image attached or accessed by link through this email (“Content”) are for news and editorial use only. For high resolution photos please email 

About the Philippine Surfing Championship Tour

The Philippine Surfing Championship Tour (PSCT) is the country’s first-ever and only professional surfing tournament. Patterned after the Word Surf League, surfers from all over the Philippines tour around different surf spots to battle for the top spot in the national rankings.


PSCT’s vision is to be the venue for professional surfing in the Philippines that follows International Surfing Association (ISA) standards of competition, preparing Filipino athletes for the international stage while promoting camaraderie and unity of the surfing community.


Visit for more info.


Like PSCT on Facebook,

Follow us on Instagram,